A HOUSE OF EXCELLENCE 

THEODOR - Made in France

The search for Excellence is the Imperative of our house. It is based on a philosophy of sincerity and quality which regulate our global approach.


The selection process is entirely and personally supervised by Guillaume LELEU, tea master, tea-taster and ‘nose’ of THEODOR house. We choose to privilege the establishment of lasting partnerships with gardens who are respectful of our Imperative, for a direct supplying according to the paces of harvests, always in small quantities. Thus, we are able to guarantee the freshness as well as the steady quality of our teas. Finally, Independent quality controls and systematic tracking of our supplies enable us to ensure our Imperative of Excellence safely and with transparence.

AN ECO-FRIENDLY INITIATIVE

THEODOR’s Excellence also enshrines through its eco-friendly values which are expressed every day, by respecting both human beings and the environment:

- Our ‘food processing’ follows the framework of HACCP methods, enabling us to identify food dangers and risks.
- Our teas are frequently and randomly controlled through samples which are analyzed by specialized laboratories.
- We choose a large number of teas which are certified organic, without always being labelled.
- We always try to use ‘recycled’ and/or ‘recyclable’ products.
- We demand that our partners respect the Imperatives and commitments which are at the core of our values.

MADE IN FRANCE

Art craftsman full of history and rooted in its land of origin, THEODOR has made the choice of a ‘Made in France’ global approach. Our production workshops are located in Bonnières sur Seine, in the Yvelines, in an exceptionally well-preserved industrial architecture of the 19th century. In 1934, the SINGER factory, flagship of the local economy, established itself in those same buildings, enabling the whole region to earn a living until the end of the ‘Glorious Thirty’ period. Between the Seine River and the railway connecting Paris to Le Havre, THEODOR now occupies over 5000 m² of this industrial site of exception, where you can still see the remains of the real harbor it used to be. The House first settles in former fitting workshops where specialized workers used to scrutinize each machinery meticulously, to adjust dispensers and tensions and execute the embroidery tests. Then it has spread to the undercutting and stretching machinery zone. As a twist of fate THEODOR now perpetuates the soul of such a beautiful factory filled with past stories, while breathing new life into it thanks to so many flavors coming from elsewhere.

AN ALMOST COMPLETELY HANDCRAFTED FABRICATION

Every year, we receive about 100 tons of tea in all its forms and from all around the world (China, Japan, Ceylon, Korea, Africa, or even Brazil and Argentina …). The tea is then packed in our workshops or used as a base for the House creations. The largest part of our production is made of bulk products, intended to be sent to retailers and resellers, however, THEODOR also produces from 200 to 250,000 tins annually, so prettily decorated with a satin ribbon applied by hand, as well as 5 million teabags.

Despite these numbers, THEODOR wants to perpetuate an almost fully handcrafted work with a production process sparsely industrialized, consisting of several small workshops, devoid of any assembly line, deliberately using the expertise of precious and specialized ‘small hands’, like in the old days.

UNE MAISON D'EXCELLENCE

THEODOR - Made In France

La quête de l’Excellence est l’Exigence de la Maison. Elle repose sur une philosophie de sincérité et de qualité qui régit notre démarche globale.


Guillaume Leleu, maître de thé, et « nez » de la Maison sélectionne personnellement le thé importé. Nous privilégions ensuite la construction de partenariats durables auprès des jardins respectueux de notre Exigence, pour un approvisionnement aurythme des récoltes et toujours en petite quantité. La fraîcheur de nos thés et une qualité constante sont ainsi garanties. Enfin, un contrôle qualité indépendant et une traçabilité systématique permettent d'assurer notre démarche d'Excellence en toute sécurité et transparence.

UNE INITIATIVE ÉCO-CITOYENNE

L’Excellence de THEODOR s’inscrit aussi au sein de valeurs respectueuses des hommes et de l’environnement, qui s’expriment au quotidien :

  • Notre processus alimentaire respecte le cadre des méthodes HACCP afin d’identifier et de maîtriser les dangers et risques alimentaires.
  • Nos thés sont contrôlés de manière fréquente et aléatoire par le biais d’échantillons envoyés à des laboratoires.
  • Nous sélectionnons un grand nombre de thés certifiés BIO, sans pour autant les labelliser.
  • Nous privilégions des produits à base de matière ‘recyclables’ et/ou ‘recyclées’.
  • Notre Maison exige de ses partenaires les mêmes engagements qui font sa valeur.

MADE IN FRANCE

Artisan d’art baigné d’histoire et ancré sur son territoire, THEODOR a fait le choix du Made In France. Á Bonnières-sur-Seine, dans les Yvelines, nos ateliers de production évoluent dans une architecture industrielle du XIXè siècle exceptionnellement conservée. L’usine SINGER, fleuron de l’industrie locale y établit son lieu de résidence en 1934, et y fit vivre la région jusqu’à la fin des Trente Glorieuses. Entre la Seine et la voie ferrée Paris-Le Havre, THEODOR occupe aujourd’hui 5000 m² de ce site industriel qui fut par sa position privilégiée, un véritable port, dont les vestiges sont encore présents. La Maison investit d’abord les anciens ateliers d'essayage où les ouvrières spécialisées scrutaient avec minutie chaque machine, réglaient les dévidoirs et les tensions et exécutaient les essais de broderie et de reprise. Puis elle s’étendit à la zone de décolletage et d’étirage des machines. Comme un clin d’œil du destin, THEODOR perpétue l’âme de cette belle usine habitée par le passé, tout en lui insufflant une seconde vie par tant d’arômes venus d’ailleurs.

UNE MANUFACTURE QUASI-ARTISANALE

Chaque année, nous recevons environ 100 tonnes de thé sous toutes ses formes en provenance du monde entier (Chine, Japon, Ceylan, Corée, mais aussi Afrique ou encore Brésil et Argentine) afin de les conditionner, ou de les utiliser comme bases des créations de la Maison. La majorité de la production est du vrac à destination des détaillants revendeurs, mais THEODOR produit également 200 à 250 000 boîtes annuelles, si joliment vêtues d’un ruban de satin posé à la main, ainsi que 5 millions de thés en sachets.

Malgré ces chiffres, THEODOR veut perpétuer un travail quasi artisanal, constitué de plusieurs petits ateliers, sans chaîne d’assemblage avec un processus de fabrication très peu industrialisé s’appuyant volontairement sur le savoir-faire de « petites mains » précieuses et spécialisées. Comme d’antan.